SPES Honored at State Capitol

Springhill Elementary was recently honored by the Arkansas State Legislature for being a 2022 National Blue Ribbon School. 

Principal Russ Sherrill and counselor Tara Efird took thirteen student leaders making up the school’s Lighthouse Team to the State Capitol on Monday, February 27. Pam Kenney, Assistant Superintendent for Elementary, also attended to celebrate the school’s recognition.

Representative RJ Hawk presented the resolution to the House. Seated in the gallery as the resolution was read, the group witnessed its approval and received the applause of the members of the House.

Senator Kim Hammer presented the resolution to the Senate while the Springhill team was recognized on the Senate floor. It was another proud moment for both the students and the school leaders.

While at the Capitol, the group met legislators representing the district, along with Leslie Rutledge, Lieutenant Governor. 

We are thankful to our legislators for bestowing this prestigious honor on Springhill Elementary.