BHS Journalism Takes Honors at ASPA

Twenty-seven students from the BHS Journalism program attended the Arkansas Scholastic Press Association's Spring Convention on April 21 and 22. Students entered work in mail-in critiques and competed in on-site competitions, scoring in true #212 fashion.

  • Lydia Payne was awarded Newspaper Writer of the Year.
  • Jessica Roberts earned Best of ASPA in Sports Photography.
  • The Prospective Online newspaper earned an Honorable Mention in the category of General Excellence.
  • The Hornet yearbook earned a Superior in its General Excellence category.

Staff members of both publications earned 24 ratings ranging from Honorable Mention to Superior in mail-in categories. Winners include Priscila Cox, Matt Jones, Portugal Diaz, Sam Forst, Madison Hagan, Arielle Kirkley Ross Holloway, Hayden Wylie, Layten Goudy, Jessica Roberts, Elizabeth Carter, Julia Trantham, Devyn Summons, Marissa Tate, Kaycee Browning and Mia Simone Parker.

Twenty staff members also placed in their on-site competitions: Jessica Roberts, Elizabeth Carter, Emily Whittaker, Layten Goudy, Kennedy Claypoole, Abbie Price, Julia Trantham, Marissa Tate, Kaycee Browning, Matt Jones, Gabi Dawson, Vanessa Hawley, Addyson Petty, Lydia Payne, Laci Womack, Hope Ingold, Nikki Womack, Madison Hagan, Luis Garcia and Destiny Mbuthia.

Colton Croy is the journalism teacher and publications adviser.